Michael van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen

Mighty Mike
  • World ranking 1
  • Televised titles 34
  • Non-Televised PDC Titles 46
  • Televised nine dart finishes 5
  • Walk on music White Stripes - Seven Nation Army
  • Date of birth April 25 1989
  • Home town Vlijmen, Netherlands
  • Darts Used 23g XQMax
  • Twitter @MvG180
  • Instagram mvg180

THE current world number one and World Champion, Dutch ace Michael van Gerwen has enjoyed an extraordinary spell to establish himself as one of the sport’s superstars.

A teenage wonderkid when he broke through to win the 2006 World Masters, he would wait a further six years to pick up his next televised title at the 2012 World Grand Prix, a victory which has sparked a golden run of success.

A two-time World Youth Championship finalist who honed his skills in the early years of the PDC's Youth Tour - having initially joined the PDC circuit in 2007 - Van Gerwen has been the dominant player on the PDC circuit since 2013.

Having hit a brilliant nine-darter in the 2013 World Championship - and missed double 12 to complete amazing back-to-back perfect legs - his Premier League win in his debut season of that event was swiftly followed by victory in the PDC's inaugural World Series event in Dubai.

Two European Tour victories were accompanied by seven other ProTour wins during the year, which ended with him going all the way to glory in the 2014 World Championship - defeating Peter Wright in the final in his most memorable New Year's Day ever!

After topping the Premier League table once again following the 2014 season, van Gerwen bounced back from losing that title to Van Barneveld in the Play-Offs by picking up another victory in the Dubai Darts Masters.

He added another World Series title in Singapore in August 2014 and teamed up with van Barneveld to win the World Cup of Darts title before a memorable October led to him taking a second World Grand Prix triumph and success in the European Championship, which also featured a nine-darter.

A semi-finalist in the defence of his World Championship title, van Gerwen began 2015 in style by winning The Masters in Milton Keynes, a European Tour event and three UK Open Qualifiers during an amazing run which saw him win 42 games out of 43 during February before then winning the UK Open TV Finals in March.

His imperious form on the circuit continued with three further European Tour wins, in Gibraltar, Germany and Holland, and two Players Championship triumphs, while he also finished at the head of the Premier League table for a third straight season, only to lose out in the final to Gary Anderson.

After retaining the Dubai Darts Masters title for a third successive year, this time defeating Phil Taylor in the final, van Gerwen then succeeded Taylor as World Matchplay champion with his brilliant success in Blackpool, which was sealed with his defeat of James Wade in the final.

Further 2015 triumphs followed as Van Gerwen retained the European Championship title with a comeback win over Anderson, won his first Grand Slam of Darts title, as he memorably overcame Taylor in the final, and claimed victory in the inaugural World Series of Darts Finals.

He also won a second Players Championship Finals title by overcoming Lewis in the final, but was knocked out of the 2016 World Championship by Dutch rival Van Barneveld.

Van Gerwen bounced back to retain both his Masters and UK Open titles - hitting a nine-darter in Minehead - before claiming his second Premier League title by seeing off Taylor in the final.

Victory in the inaugural Shanghai Darts Masters was followed by another superb World Matchplay triumph, glory in the Perth Darts Masters and a third World Grand Prix win, as he bounced back from a loss to Taylor in the Champions League of Darts final.

Another golden autumn saw Van Gerwen then win the European Championship, World Series of Darts Finals, Grand Slam of Darts and Players Championship Finals to continue an incredible year, which ended fittingly with his second World Championship triumph as he defeated Anderson in the Alexandra Palace final.

Another win over Anderson sealed a third successive Masters final to open 2017 in style, and after topping the Premier League's regular season table for a fifth straight year he retained that title in May before claiming his second World Cup of Darts title alongside Van Barneveld in June.

PDC World Championship 2014, 2017
Premier League 2013, 2016, 2017
World Matchplay 2015, 2016
World Grand Prix 2012, 2014, 2016
Grand Slam of Darts 2015, 2016
The Masters 2015, 2016, 2017
UK Open 2015, 2016
European Championship 2014, 2015, 2016
Players Championship Finals 2013, 2015, 2016
World Cup of Darts 2014, 2017
World Series of Darts Finals 2015, 2016
Dubai Darts Masters 2013, 2014, 2015
Perth Darts Masters 2016
Singapore Darts Masters 2014
Shangahai Darts Masters 2016
World Masters 2006
Austrian Darts Open 2013
Dutch Darts Masters 2014, 2015, 2016
European Darts Grand Prix 2016
European Darts Matchplay 2015, 2017
European Darts Open 2013, 2016
European Darts Trophy 2016
German Darts Championship 2015
German Darts Masters 2015, 2016, 2017
Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2015, 2016
Players Championship 2009, 2012 (x5), 2013 (x2), 2014 (x3), 2015 (x2), 2016 (x5), 2017 (x2)
UK Open Qualifier 2012, 2013 (x5), 2014, 2015 (x3), 2016 (x3), 2017
Open Holland 2006, 2007
PDC Youth Tour 2011 (x4)
  Most Recent Best Performance 
2017 WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP Winner Winner - 2014, 2017
2017 UK OPEN - Winner - 2015, 2016
2016 WORLD MATCHPLAY Winner Winner - 2015, 2016
2016 WORLD GRAND PRIX Winner Winner - 2012, 2014, 2016
2016 EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP Winner Winner - 2014, 2015, 2016
2016 GRAND SLAM OF DARTS Winner Winner - 2015, 2016
2016 PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS Winner Winner - 2013, 2015, 2016
  Most Recent Best Performance 
2017 THE MASTERS Winner Winner - 2015, 2016, 2017
2017 PREMIER LEAGUE Winner Winner - 2013, 2016, 2017
2017 DUBAI MASTERS Runner Up Winner - 2013, 2014, 2015
2017 WORLD CUP OF DARTS  Winner (Raymond van Barneveld) Winner - 2014, 2017
2016 AUCKLAND MASTERS Quarter Final Quarter Final - 2015, 2016
2016 SHANGHAI MASTERS Winner Winner - 2016
2016 TOKYO MASTERS Runner Up Runner Up - 2016
2016 SYDNEY MASTERS Runner Up Runner Up - 2013, 2016
2016 PERTH MASTERS Winner Winner - 2016
2016 CHAMPIONS LEAGUE OF DARTS Runner Up Runner Up - 2016
2016 WORLD SERIES OF DARTS FINALS Winner Winner - 2015, 2016
TOURNAMENT WIN European Darts Matchplay (June 2017) beat Mensur Suljovic 6-3
FINAL European Darts Matchplay (June 2017) beat Mensur Suljovic 6-3
SEMI FINAL European Darts Matchplay (June 2017) beat Michael Smith 6-3
QUARTER FINAL European Darts Matchplay (June 2017) beat Peter Hudson 6-4
WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP Winner beat Gary Anderson 7-3
THE MASTERS Winner beat Gary Anderson 11-7
UK OPEN QUALIFIER 1 Last 64 lost to Ritchie Edhouse 6-5
UK OPEN QUALIFIER 2 Last 32 lost to Steve Beaton 6-2
UK OPEN QUALIFIER 3 Quarter Final lost to Peter Wright 6-4
UK OPEN QUALIFIER 4 Winner beat Gary Anderson 6-3
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 3 Last 32 lost to William O'Connor 6-4
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 4 Semi Final lost to Darren Johnson 6-5
GERMAN DARTS CHAMPIONSHIP Runner Up lost to Peter Wright 6-3
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 5 Semi Final lost to Adrian Lewis 6-5
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 6 Winner beat Peter Wright 6-1
GERMAN DARTS MASTERS Winner beat Jelle Klaasen 6-2
GERMAN DARTS OPEN Quarter Final lost to Ian White 6-1
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 9 Winner beat Robert Thornton 6-2
PLAYERS CHAMPIONSHIP 10 Last 16 lost to Gary Anderson 6-4
EUROPEAN DARTS GRAND PRIX Runner Up lost to Peter Wright 6-0
PREMIER LEAGUE Winner beat Peter Wright 11-10
DUBAI DARTS MASTERS Runner Up lost to Gary Anderson 11-7
WORLD CUP OF DARTS Winner (Raymond van Barneveld)

beat Wales 3-1

EUROPEAN DARTS MATCHPLAY Winner beat Mensur Suljovic 6-3



In the news

More Players